The No.83 shirt Only four tight ends have broken the receiver monopoly on this number and one of them takes the honours for our best-ever to wear the jersey too. Dave Moore did wear the number 86 in 2004 on his return to the Bucs but will always be associated with 83 until his retirement to the Buccaneer radio booth after the 2006 season. The first tight end to wear 83 was Dana Nafziger, a special team head-hunter and notional linebacker who played offense in 1977 when injuries decimated John McKay's second Buccaneer team. As for the receivers, Curtis Leak is more famous for being former Florida Gator QB Chris Leak's father and Danny Peebles was the biggest receiving draft bust in franchise history. Theo Bell, or T-Bell as he was known, was the Bucs' third receiver from 1981 to 1985 but sadly passed away from liver disease. Joe Jurevicius wore the 83 jersey in the Super Bowl and was a real fan favourite during his three injury-plagued years in Tampa Bay. But when it comes to free agent receiver signings, the late Vincent Jackson was by far the best. Three 1,000-yard seasons and a tremendous locker room presence to go with it but not quite enough to over-take the current color analyst on Buccaneer radio. The reaminder of the 83s have been prety much no-names and one-year or even one-game appearance players although it is one of the most worn jerseys in franchise history. The current owner, speedster Deven Thompkins, will go down as one of the smallest players to wear any number for the Buccaneers. BEST EVER TO WEAR No.83 FOR THE BUCCANEERS - DAVE MOORE
Click on the player's name for their profile page, Buccaneer stats and picture galleries Years Player Pos 1976 Lee McGriff WR 1976 Curtis Leak WR 1977 Dana Nafziger TE/LB 1978 Frank Grant WR 1981-85 Theo Bell WR 1986 Willie Gillespie WR 1987 Derek Holloway WR 1987 Herkie Walls WR 1987 Solomon Miller WR 1988 Joey Clinkscales WR 1989-90 Danny Peebles WR 1992 Jeff Parker WR 1992-2001 Dave Moore TE 2002-04 Joe Jurevicius WR 2005-06 Dave Moore TE 2007 Chas Gessner WR 2008 Ben Troupe TE 2009 Terrence Nunn WR 2012-16 Vincent Jackson WR 2019 Amara Darboh WR 2019 Spencer Schnell WR 2022- Deven Thompkins WR