The No.77 shirt Now this was an interesting decision for the best ever in this jersey and it came down to a toss-up between a pair of defensive tackles very different in their on-field demenours. But the first person to wear the number was an expansion player, Everett Little who played just the single season in Tampa. He was followed by Bill Kollar who after five years in the Bucs' colours, went on to become a very successful defensive line coach around the NFL for over three decades. After a series of no-names, rookie Mark Wheeler took the jersey number in 1992 and spent most of the next four seasons playing one of the two defensive tackle positions in the 4-3 defense. And whereas Wheeler was a pretty quiet man by nature, his successor, Brad Culpepper, was anything but that. Now a Tampa attorney, Culpepper was one of the few players who could take Warren Sapp on and walk away intact, the two of them having an interesting but strange friendship over the five years they played together on the Buccaneer defense. The best story I can tell about Brad was when a young fan asked him what it was like to get a sack. "The second-best feeling in life". "So what is the first?" asked the fan. "Err .. ask your parents when you're older" replied an embarrassed Brad to mass laughter from around the room. Carl Nicks was one of the prize free agency signings in 2012 and a multiple Pro Bowler but only lasted a handful of games before going on injured reserve and winding up to be a free agency disaster. Caleb Benenoch started for a time on the offensive line without ever truly impressing in the process. BEST EVER TO WEAR No.77 FOR THE BUCCANEERS - BRAD CULPEPPER
Click on the player's name for their profile page, Buccaneer stats and picture galleries Years Player Pos 1976 Everett Little G/T 1977-81 Bill Kollar DL 1983-84 Glenn Bujnoch G 1986-87 JD Maarleveld T 1987 Rufus Brown G 1989 Rhondy Weston DE 1991 Gerald Nichols DT 1992-95 Mark Wheeler DT 1996-99 Brad Culpepper DT 2000-02 Todd Washington G 2004-06 Jeb Terry G 2008-11 James Lee T 2012-13 Carl Nicks G 2014 Lawrence Sidbury DE 2015 Tony McDaniel DT 2016-19 Caleb Benenoch OL 2022- Justin Skule T