16 different Buccaneer linebackers have worn this number during the history of the franchise and although there have four pretty reasonable players to have owned it Dewey Selmon may be better known as Lee Roy's older brother, but he played five solid seasons for the Buccaneers, first as a down lineman (where he wore 61) and then switching to inside linebacker for the title run in 1979. Jeff Davis inside and Winston Moss outside, wore this jersey with distinction during some of the worst years of the franchise and posted nice numbers without ever really dominating, whilst the majority of the 58 brigade are one- year players and really only special teamers at best. Pete Najarian also wore 57 and was a special teamer who came to prominence during the '87 strike games for the Vikings and also went on to play in the 1992 World Bowl. He was also a memorable guest at a Clearwater Bucs Bunch event. But the first person to wear it, Calvin Peterson, ended his career in sad circumstances. Having missed four games with a knee injury, he limped on to the field in Denver and promptly made an interception. But his knee gave way again during the return and he fell to the ground untouched, never again to wear the Buccaneer colours. Marquis Cooper sadly died in a boating accident off the Clearwater coast after leaving football and Quincy Black's promising career ended with an injury following a tackle against the San Diego Chargers. Kwon Alexander had four excellent seasons in the middle of the defense before moving on in free agency to be replaced by Shaq Barrett who merely led the NFL in sacks in 2019 with 19.5. Barrett has proven to be one of the best free agent signings in franchise history and deservedly made the best 58 his own before switching to the 7 jersey for the 2023 season. BEST EVER TO WEAR No.58 FOR THE BUCS - SHAQ BARRETT
Click on the player's name for their profile page, Buccaneer stats and picture galleries Years Player Pos 1976 Calvin Peterson LB 1979-80 Dewey Selmon LB 1982-87 Jeff Davis LB 1988 Pete Najarian LB 1988-91 Winston Moss LB 1991-92 Calvin Tiggle LB 1996 Mark Williams LB 1998-00 Don Davis LB 2001 Marq Cerqua LB 2002-03 Jack Golden LB 2004-05 Marquis Cooper LB 2007-12 Quincy Black LB 2013 Ka'lil Glaud LB 2014 George Uko DE 2015-18 Kwon Alexander LB 2019- 22 Shaq Barrett LB 2023- Markees Watts LB