Mirro Roder will go down in franchise history as the Bucs' first-ever kicker and summing up the 1976 team, he missed all three kicks he attempted and was gone after two games. QB Terry Hanratty took over the shirt number when signed as a free agent later that season but his passing stats were about the equivalent of Roder's kicking stats. Brian Clark saw action kicking off in one 1982 game when Bill Capece was hampered by injury so it was not until 1983 that the No.5 shirt finally had a more permanent resident when Frank Garcia took over the punting duties for the next five seasons. Ray Criswell ended up replacing Garcia in 1988 but wore the No.5 shirt when he punted for the replacement team the year before whilst Chris Mohr began his long NFL career as a Buccaneer draft pick and one-year punter in 1989. Courtney Hawkins was also a rookie when he wore No.5 in 1992 but only for half-a-season before switching to his more regular 85 for the rest of his time in Tampa Bay. So hence for our best ever No.5, we look to Michael Husted had a six-year run as the Bucs' kicker from 1993 to 1998. The most renowned player to wear the number is of course Josh Freeman although Bruce Gradkowski switched from his original No.7 when Jeff Garcia joined the Buccaneers in 2007. Freeman's time in Tampa and ultimately the NFL may have ended badly but Buc fans can remember how good he was during the 2010 season and how much promise he showed during his ealy days. In recent years, Jacob Schum and Cairo Santos were pretty forgettable specialists. The change in NFL jersey rules in 2021 allowed Richard Sherman to wear this number for a short stint although it returned to Jake “Punt God” Camarda for his arrival in the NFL in 2022. BEST EVER TO WEAR No.5 FOR THE BUCS - MICHAEL HUSTED
Click on the player's name for their profile page, Buccaneer stats and picture galleries Years Player Pos 1976 Mirro Roder K 1976 Terry Hanratty QB 1977 Larry Swider P 1982 Brian Clark K 1983-87 Frank Garcia P 1987 Ray Criswell P 1989 Chris Mohr P 1992 Courtney Hawkins WR 1993-98 Michael Husted K 2007 Bruce Gradkowski QB 2009-13 Josh Freeman QB 2015 Jacob Schum P 2018 Cairo Santos K 2021 Richard Sherman CB 2022- Jake Camarda P