Not a difficult selection for the best- ever to wear No.33. Mark Cotney played the first nine seasons in the Buccaneer secondary and started nearly 100 games for John McKay, being named an All-Pro in 1983. It took the Bucs a long time to replace his leadership in the defensive backfield. Cotney certainly earned his nickname of “Captain Crunch”. But since then, a collection of 22 different players from different positions with limited success. Reggie Cobb switched numbers after his rookie season and both Mazio Royster and Anthony McDowell wore other numbers during their times in the Buccaneer backfield. Jeff George was a replacement team special teamer and not the former first overall pick of the Colts, whilst Earnest Graham wore the number in his first season before switching to his more recognisable 34 jersey. FB Jerald Sowell who saw only limited action during 2006 and was then followed by another non-descript back in Kenneth Darby who had as much playing time the following year. Jameel Cook originally wore 43 but took this number on his re-signing midway through the 2008 season. The number has been worn by several nondescripts in recent years although 2018 2nd round pick Carlton Davis brought some prestige back to the number in his first two seasons before switching to the 24 jersey leaving it for his secondary colleague Jordan Whitehead to take over before he moved on in free agency. BEST EVER TO WEAR No.33 FOR THE BUCS - MARK COTNEY
Click on the player's name for their profile page, Buccaneer stats and picture galleries Years Player Pos 1976-84 Mark Cotney S 1987 Bobby Kemp S 1987 Jeff George S 1988 Derrick McAdoo RB 1990 Reggie Cobb RB 1991 William Frizzell S 1992 Chris Barber CB 1992-93 Mazio Royster RB 1994 Anthony McDowell FB 1996 Robert Staten FB 1998-01 Eric Vance S 2004 Earnest Graham RB 2006 Jerald Sowell FB 2007 Kenneth Darby RB 2008 Jameel Cook FB 2009-11 Elbert Mack CB 2012 Brandon McDonald CB 2013 Deveron Carr CB 2015 Kimario McFadden S 2018-19 Carlton Davis CB 2020-21 Jordan Whitehead S 2022 Kenny Young LB 2022 Ryan Smith CB 2023- Jose Ramirez LB