The No.28 shirt Not quite the most popular shirt in franchise history but there are 27 different players who can claim it as their property during time with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Ken Stone started every game at safety in the expansion season and Anthony Davis was a former Heisman Trophy winner at USC who briefly joined his former college coach John McKay in Tampa. Mel Carver was a back-up to James Wilder who made a couple of starts in 1982 and Stanford Jennings once returned a kickoff for a touchdown in the Super Bowl for the Bengals. Curtis Buckley was a special teams' demon who started two games at WR when Sam Wyche wanted him to go for the knees of an opposing cornerback on the first play from scrimmage. But only one player can ever truly be associated with No.28 and that is one of the smallest Bucs ever too. Warrick Dunn was a first-round pick in 1997 and spent five great seasons in Tampa, posting a pair of 1,000-yard seasons and he left the Bucs as their second leading rusher. After the non-entity that was Travaris Jackson, our Super Bowl MVP Dexter Jackson returned to Tampa in 2004 and took this number as his previous 34 jersey was being used. At the end of that season he returned to his regular number, leaving the likes of Donte Nicholson and Lionel Gates to add to the list of players with 28 in their wardrobes. Tanard Jackson took the number as a rookie but then handed it over to Warrick Dunn on his return to the Bucs in 2008 in favour of the 36 jersey that he then made his own. But since then, it seems to have been the property of back-up sand third down running backs with even 2016 first-round pick CB Vernon Hargreaves winding up being considered a bust after being released mid- season 2019. Leonard Fournette wore it to great distinction in the 2020 playoff run and Super Bowl but switched to his college number of 7 for the following season leaving it for Rashard Robinson to become the most recent owner. BEST EVER TO WEAR No.28 FOR THE BUCCANEERS - WARRICK DUNN
Click on the player's name for their profile page, Buccaneer stats and picture galleries Years Player Pos 1976 Ken Stone S 1977 Anthony Davis RB 1978 Alvin Maxson RB 1978 Charlie White RB 1980-81 Gary Davis RB 1982-85 Mel Carver RB 1986 Greg Allen RB 1987-88 Ray Isom S 1988 Selwyn Brown S 1992 Stanford Jennings RB 1993-95 Curtis Buckley DB 1996 Reggie Rusk CB 1997-01 Warrick Dunn RB 2003 Travaris Robinson S 2004 Dexter Jackson S 2005 Donte Nicholson S 2006 Lionel Gates RB 2007 Tanard Jackson S 2008 Warrick Dunn RB 2009 Derrick Ward RB 2010-11 Kregg Lumpkin RB 2012 DJ Ware RB 2013-14 Rashaan Melvin CB 2015 Tim Jennings CB 2016-19 Vernon Hargreaves CB 2020 Leonard Fournette RB 2021 Rashard Robinson CB