The No.26 shirt 18 Buccaneer players have worn this shirt in franchise history, but of course one will now always be associated with the Super Bowl win over the Raiders, after Dwight Smith became the first player in NFL history to record two interception returns for touchdowns in the big games. James Owens is a good trivia answer - the question being - name a Buccaneer who won a gold medal at the Olympics (1976 4x100m relay). But the rest of the No.26 contigent are a mixture of nondescript defensive backs and running backs although Paul Tripoli wore this number during the players' strike games in 1987 and won the NFC Defensive Player of the Week award for his performance in the win over Detroit. Reggie Rusk managed to even get cut from the Claymores' training camp in 1997 which led to him not having a long NFL career, and one of the most long-term wearers of the jersey number, Will Allen, switched to it from having worn 37 as a rookie. Sean Jones owned the 26 shirt for two seasons and Anthony Gaitor shifted from 24 to wear 26 in his second NFL season before seeing the number taken over briefly during 2014 by Crezdon Butler. Josh Robinson was the leader of the Tampa Bay special teams coverage units for two seasons before mid- season signing Andrew Adams wound up leading the 2018 Bucs in interceptions thanks to three in a single game. The same number wound up leading the Bucs in interceptions in 2019 as well as rookie Sean Murphy- Bunting took over the 26 jersey and had three picks of his own including a score in his home town of Detroit.
Click on the player's name for their profile page, Buccaneer career stats and picture galleries Years Player Pos 1976 Charlie Davis RB 1981-84 James Owens RB 1985-86 Ricky Easmon CB 1987 Paul Tripoli S 1990 John Harvey RB 1992-94 Rogerick Green CB 1995 Clifton Abraham CB 1997 Reggie Rusk CB 1998 Rabih Abdullah RB 2001-04 Dwight Smith DB 2005-09 Will Allen DB 2010-11 Sean Jones DB 2012 Anthony Gaitor CB 2014 Crezdon Butler CB 2015 Sterling Moore CB 2016-17 Josh Robinson CB 2018 Andrew Adams S 2019 Sean Murphy-Bunting S 2020- Andrew Adams S