The No.22 shirt 22 different players have worn No.22 in the history of the Buccaneers but until 2008, it was not one of the most renowned shirts either in terms of quality players or great moments to its history. Both Rod McNeill and Johnny Ray Smith were primarily kick returners, the latter making NFL blooper tapes on one famous return in Minnesota when he managed to lose both his shoe and sock during a 20-yard runback. Rod "Toast" Jones was exactly that and a waste of a first-round pick (thank you Leeman Bennett) meaning former Cowboy Thomas Everett used to take the best-ever 22 spot almost by default. Thomas Jones only made three or four really decent appearances for the Buccaneers before bolting to Chicago as a free agent and was followed in the number by a couple of non-descripts before it was handed to undrafted rookie free agent Clifton Smith in October 2008. One trip to the endzone from a kick return and punt return each in the space of a month, followed by a trip to Hawaii for the Pro Bowl later, and Clifton began to make a serious challenge to Thomas Everett for the shirt honour befoe injuries caused an early end to his NFL career. Then along Doug Martin who may have posted some disappointing years with the Bucs but had two exceptional ones and posted the two best single-game rushing performances in franchise history. He earns the best-ever award for his volume of work during his six seasons in Tampa Bay although Clifton Smith would definitely earn the role of the most exciting. The recent wearers of the jersey have all been nondescript but it does remain the property of running backs and defensive backs since the opening game in franchise history. BEST EVER TO WEAR No.22 FOR THE BUCCANEERS - DOUG MARTIN
Click on the player's name for their profile page, Buccaneer stats and picture galleries Years Player Pos 1976 Rod McNeill RB 1982-83 Johnny Ray Smith CB 1986-89 Rod Jones CB 1987 Torin Clark S 1991 Alonzo Hampton CB 1992 Garry Lewis CB 1994-95 Thomas Everett S 1996-98 Charles Mincy S 2002 David Gibson S 2003 Thomas Jones RB 2004 Jamel White RB 2005 Derek Watson RB 2007 Sammy Davis CB 2008-09 Clifton Smith RB 2010-11 Larry Asante S 2012-17 Doug Martin RB 2018 Marcus Williams CB 2018 De'vante Harris CB 2019-20 TJ Logan RB 2022 Keanu Neal S 2023- Chase Edmonds RB