11 different players have worn this number in regular season play for the Buccaneers including of course, one person who did it twice. But how many of you have heard of Jeb Blount, one of the no- names who played QB during the second season of play? Steve DeBerg had two separate stints in Tampa, the first being from 1984 to 1987 when he first beat out Jack Thompson for the starting role, and then lost it twice to Steve Young and Vinny Testaverde. DeBerg's 1984 season was one the best offensive peformance by the team in franchise history before the NFL passing offenses went crazy. Chris Chandler came in for a first round pick in 1990 and caused a year and a half of aggravation off the field and didn't do a lot more on it either. And after the return of DeBerg for two more seasons, the next player to wear No.17 was future Dallas head coach Jason Garrett who came of the TV booth briefly during the 2004 season when Chris Simms was hurt. Then there came one of the most long-awaited plays in franchise history - the first kick-off return for a touchdown. And it was done in the No.17 jersey by Micheal Spurlock against the Falcons in December 2007. Arrelious Benn then took over the jersey but injuries plagued his career before finally being released. Eric Page was nothing more than a kick returner and Donteea Dye a journeyman receiver in 2015 and 2016. Justin Watson became the owner of the number in 2018. Russell Gage arrived as a free agent in 2022 and took over the number as the No.3 receiver on the team. BEST EVER TO WEAR No.17 FOR THE BUCS - STEVE DeBERG
Click on the player's name for their profile page, Buccaneer stats and picture galleries Years Player Pos 1977 Jeb Blount QB 1984-87 Steve DeBerg QB 1990-91 Chris Chandler QB 1992-93 Steve DeBerg QB 2004 Jason Garrett QB 2007 Micheal Spurlock WR 2010-12 Arrelious Benn WR 2013 Eric Page KR 2015-16 Donteea Dye WR 2018- 21 Justin Watson WR 2022- Russell Gage WR