Click on the player's name for their profile page, Buccaneer stats and picture galleries Years Player Pos 1976 Isaac Hagins WR 1980-81 Garo Yepremian K 1982-83 Michael Morton RB 1985-89 Donald Igwebuike K 1987 Van Tiffin K 1992 Ken Willis K 1995 Reggie Roby P 1996 Marvin Marshall WR 2001-02 Joe Hamilton QB 2010 Robert Malone P 2020 Greg Joseph K 2021-22 Jaelon Darden WR 2023- Rachaad White RB
Although this is always a popular number in the NCAA, the previous NFL rules regarding the use of numbers 1-10 in the league have restricted its usage in the pro game. Hence of all the Buccaneers to have worn No.1 in a regular season game, five have been kickers and three others specialist return men. Isaac Hagins wore No.1 throughout the expansion 1976 season and will always be known for returning two kickoffs for touchdowns during that exhibition season. Hagins became more of a receiving threat by the following year and hence switched to 81 in 1977. Garo Yepremian won a Super Bowl ring with the perfect 1972 Dolphins and Donald Igwebuike was one of the best kickers the Bucs have probably ever had. The late Reggie Roby was also a Dolphin for many years but spent only one season in Tampa, and former Cowboy Ken Willis was a bust as a Plan B free agent signing in 1992. Michael Morton was the team's primary kick returner for two seasons before switching to a normal running back number of 20 in 1984, whilst Marvin Marshall wore No.1 briefly in his short NFL career when he was promoted from the practice squad to return punts in 1996. Van Tiffin wore that jersey for the three replacement games in 1987, Robert Malone took over the punting duties in 2010, Greg Joseph was promoted briefly from the practice squad in 2020, whilst Rachaad White is the current owner having switched numbers before the 2023 season. BEST EVER TO WEAR No.1 FOR THE BUCS - DONALD IGWEBUIKE