Click on the player's name for their profile page, Buccaneer career stats and picture galleries
1976 Barry SmithWR
1978-86 Jimmie GilesTE
1986 Jeff SpekTE
1987 Dwayne DixonWR
1988-92 Mark Carrier WR
1994-98 Horace Copeland WR
1998 Brice Hunter WR
1999 Yo Murphy WR
2000 Andre Hastings WR
2001 Milton Wynn WR
2002-04 Rickey Dudley TE
2005-07 Anthony Becht TE
2008-10 John Gilmore TE
2011-17 Luke Stocker TE
2018- Tanner Hudson TE
The No.88 shirt
It is amazing how some numbers have a complete dearth of talent, and then others are just totally blessed with it. I mean, how can Mark Carrier not win a best-ever to wear a number award? When he wore the same one as Jimmie Giles.

Giles was Doug Williams' favourite target and good friend for five seasons under John McKay, and Giles continued his excellent work in the 88 jersey until he was unceremoniously dumped by Hugh Culverhouse in October 1986.

Carrier merely holds the record for most receiving yardage in Buccaneer history and also posted a massive 1,400-yard season in 1989 from Vinny no less.

And Mark was followed in the number by the speedy Horace Copeland whose emergence into NFL stardom was curtailed by a knee injury that caused him to miss a complete season.

Since then, this has been a number worn by back-ups and tight ends, none of whom have really impressed in any way although Luke Stocker will claim the longevity award behind Giles.

So if we ever decide to introduce a "second-best ever" award for any jersey, then Mark Carrier will be the first one named but he was up against a member of the Buccaneers' Ring of Honor this time out.


Jimmie Giles Mark Carrier Horace Copeland Brice Hunter Luke Stocker