Click on the player's name for their profile page, Buccaneer career stats and picture galleries
1976-78Jimmy DuBoseRB
1982Rick MoserRB
1986Pat FranklinRB
1987-88Jeff SmithRB
1993-96Martin MayhewCB
1999Fred McAfeeRB
2001-04Corey IvyCB
2007-09BJ AskewFB
2010-12Cody GrimmS
2013Kelcie McCrayS
2016-Javien ElliottCB
The No.35 shirt
Jimmy DuBose is the answer to a good trivia question - who was the first Buc to rush for 100 yards in a game? Unfortunately Jimmy got hurt almost straight after that milestone and never played in the NFL again.

But it was almost enough for him to be the best-ever No.35 Buccaneer until Martin Mayhew's four years as a starting cornerback for the franchise. Nothing spectacular but enough to edge out the expansion back.

Some of the other players to have worn this number before BJ Askew - well, had you heard of any of them before this feature?

Rick Moser was a special teams' signing right at the end of 1982 and Pat Franklin was one of Leeman Bennett's mid-season pick-ups during the awful 1986 campaign.

Jeff Smith saw time under Ray Perkins before the latter drafted three rookie backs in 1988 and Corey Ivy was a former NFL Europe special teamer who played in the Super Bowl. BJ Askew took over the number on joining the Bucs in 2007 and was proven to be an adept lead blocker and short yardage specialist when necessary.

Cody Grimm had some nice moments in his three years having made the team as a long-shot rookie but never came close to usurping Mayhew from the best ever position.


Jimmy DuBoseMartin MayhewCorey IvyBJ AskewCody Grimm