THE ALL-TIME BUCCANEER TEAM After 42 seasons, enough time has passed to produce an all-time Buccaneer team. Not just starters but a full 53- man roster of the best players to have worn the Tampa Bay colours in the NFL.    The 53 includes special teamers, specialists and the need for rotational and back-up players.  Some selections were obvious, others perhaps a little controversial but that is what off-season articles are for.  And you have to take into consideration the eras that each player appeared in. Comparing a receiver or a QB rating from the modern game to that of the 1980s is not realistic. Now we come to the specialists and I have allocated five such roles on our roster.  Dave Moore could handle the long snapping although I am sure Randy Grimes could step in to fill the role if also needed meaning I did not have to find the likes of an Ed Brady or Sam Anno to take up a roster spot on our 53-man list. Connor Barth narrowly beat out a couple of friends (sorry!) in Donald Igwebuike and Michael Husted.  Connor’s stats are just better albeit from a slightly different kicking era and his record on 50+ yarders is way better than Matt Bryant in spite of the latter going one-for-one from 62 yard game winners.  Bryan Anger takes the punting role over the likes of Mark Royals and Josh Bidwell although Dave Green was also in consideration simply for the amount of punts he had to unleash in the early years of the franchise. The kick returners both deserve to be on the roster so it will be Micheal Spurlock to handle kicks and Karl Williams on punts.  This also meant Danny Reece missed out, a tough decision for anyone who saw him fearlessly return punts in the first five years of Buccaneer football, hardly ever calling for a fair catch.   I wanted to also include one true special team tackling machine and Jeff Gooch leads the all-time tackle list in that field ahead of the likes of Jim Obradovich and Mark Witte. The coaching staff would be led by Tony Dungy in this respect and I am not revisiting the Dungy v Gruden debate here.   Dirk Koetter wins the OC role as Gruden would never be able to handle such a role on our team whilst the defense would be in the hands of Monte Kiffin and Wayne Fontes. Rich Bisaccia wins the special teams role over the likes of Charles Stewart. Some off-field nominations here with Rick Stroud and his near 30-year career reporting on the Buccaneers would be the prime man to handle such a role for our team.  The legendary Tom McEwen would handle the columns and witty asides.    Gene Deckerhoff of course would do the commentary and with Hardy Nickerson, David Logan and Dave Moore all on our roster, Scot Brantley would be his sidekick in the booth.  Another pair of good friends, Dick Crippen and TJ Rives would handle all the sideline reporting, both having had the unenviable task of interviewing me over the years on Buccaneer radio!    Cliff Welch and Matt May are two of the best ever in the photography department and Rick Odioso’s long run in the PR department puts him in charge of the media support work. And finally as the team’s designated holder and organiser of social entertainment, I give you former 1983 Buc QB Bob Hewko.  No player has done more after the game in terms of stories and contacts than Bob so he well deserves his place on our all-time list.
QB Doug Williams DE Lee Roy Selmon QB Brad Johnson DT Warren Sapp QB Steve DeBerg DT Gerald McCoy RB James Wilder DE Simeon Rice RB Warrick Dunn DE Chidi Ahanotu RB Ricky Bell DE Greg Spires RB Mike Alstott DT David Logan FB Adger Armstrong DT Dave Pear TE Jimmie Giles LB Derrick Brooks TE Dave Moore LB Hardy Nickerson TE Kellen Winslow LB Lavonte David WR Mark Carrier LB Richard Wood WR Kevin House LB Hugh Green WR Mike Evans LB Shelton Quarles WR Vincent Jackson LB David Lewis WR Joey Galloway CB Ronde Barber WR Keenan McCardell CB Ricky Reynolds LT Paul Gruber CB Donnie Abraham LG Sean Farrell CB Mike Washington C Tony Mayberry FS Cedric Brown RG Davin Joseph SS John Lynch RT Ron Heller S Mark Robinson T Donald Penn S Mark Cotney G Ian Beckles KR Micheal Spurlock OL Randy Grimes PR Karl Williams K Connor Barth P Bryan Anger SPEC Jeff Gooch HEAD COACH Tony Dungy OFFENSIVE CO-ORDINATOR Dirk Koetter DEFENSIVE CO-ORDINATOR Monte Kiffin/Wayne Fontes SPECIAL TEAMS Rich Bisaccia BEAT REPORTER Rick Stroud COLUMNIST Tom McEwen COMMENTARY Gene Deckerhoff Scot Brantley SIDELINE REPORTERS Dick Crippen/TJ Rives PHOTOGRAPHERS Cliff Welch/Matt May PR GURU Rick Odioso SOCIAL ENTERTAINMENT Bob Hewko